Magnolia Table Biscuits

IMG_5733

If there is one thing you need to know about me, it’s that I LOVE Chip and Joanna Gaines. I am a huge Fixer Upper fan and just love absolutely everything that they do. I’ve read the Magnolia Story, I receive the Magnolia Journal, seen every single episode of Fixer Upper and even have one of their t-shirts. To say I have a slight obsession is probably an understatement 😉 It is on my bucket list to go to the Silos one day and eat and shop my way through the bakery, all the shops and Magnolia Table.

Naturally, when I found out that Joanna was releasing a cookbook, I had to have it. I even pre-ordered it on Amazon that’s how badly I wanted it. Her recipe for biscuits is the first one in the book and they just looked so fluffy and delicious that I knew that these were what I had to try out first.

IMG_5735

Biscuits are something that I have some difficulty mastering. In culinary school, I struggled on biscuit day and my group’s biscuits came out hard and not flaky at all. It is super difficult to not over mix biscuits so I think that scared me a little when I made these. Overall the taste was absolutely delicious but they did fall apart because I actually don’t think I mixed them enough (of course) and will try to mix them a little more next time I make them.

I left the dough in the fridge overnight and baked them the next morning for breakfast. Although the recipe says you can do this, I might not leave them in the fridge overnight next time to see if that helps with the rising. I think leaving it in the fridge for that long killed some of the rising power of the baking powder and made them a little flatter than I wanted.


Joanna Gaines’ Biscuits

Yield: about 20 biscuits

Ingredients:

4 cups self-rising flour

2 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup (3 sticks) salted butter, cold, cut into chunks

2 eggs, beaten plus 1 egg for brushing

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the butter and use a pastry blender to cut the butter into the flour until the pieces are even and pea sized.
  2. Stir in the 2 beaten eggs with a wooden spoon until combined. Stir in the 1 1/2 cups buttermilk until the dough comes together into a sticky mass. If it’s too dry add more buttermilk 1 tbsp at a time, mixing after each addition, until it reaches the correct consistency. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for 30 minutes or overnight.
  3. Position a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  4. Scrape the dough onto a floured work surface. Use your floured hands to press it into a round roughly 14 inches across and about 1/2 inch thick.
  5. Use a floured 2 3/4 inch round biscuit cutter to cut out about 20 biscuits. If necessary, collect and pat out the scraps to cut more biscuits.
  6. Transfer the biscuits onto the prepared baking sheet and arrange them so that they are all touching.
  7. In a small dish, beat together the remaining egg and 1 tbsp buttermilk. brush the mixture on top of the biscuits.
  8. Bake until golden brown, 15-20 min. Let cool slightly in the pan on a rack.
  9. Biscuits are best the day they are made. Serve with jam or gravy, if desired and store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2 days.

Leave a comment